Burning Regulations to be followed:
- Prior to burning any material, the Permittee shall call the Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District open burn voice mail at 367-FIRE (367-3473) by 10:00 AM.
- Burning shall be allowed from 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM daily unless otherwise stated by 367-FIRE.
- The burning material is to be observed at all times by a responsible adult until the fire is completely extinguished (no flame or smoldering material remains).
- During the burning period there must be a water source under pressure capable of extinguishing the fire if the need arises as well as tools or other equipment approved by the Fire Chief or his designee.
- No burning will be allowed when wind conditions are over 10 MPH, unless written authorization is obtained from the Fire Chief. Under no circumstances will fires be allowed during Red Flag Conditions as set forth by the National Weather Service or US Forest Service or other restrictions in place.
- All materials to be burned must be cut and stacked in piles no larger than 3′ x 3′. Flame heights shall not exceed 4 feet.
- No burning shall be conducted within 20 feet of any structure, unless approved by the Fire Chief or his designee.
- BURNING OF THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS IS FORBIDDEN: Garbage, paper, cardboard, petroleum products (tarpaper, plastics, rubber, oil), treated construction materials, inorganic pesticides, lead, cadmium, mercury, or arsenic compounds.
- Any fire shall not produce dense, offensive smoke that could cross roadways to the extent a safety hazard occurs. Any fire that produces smoke that is offensive to neighbors shall be discontinued.
- Person(s) conducting open burning authorized by this permit shall have a copy of this permit on-site during permitted open burning operations, and shall produce a copy of this permit when requested to do so by fire /and or other authorized personnel.
- Recreational Fires are deemed as fires used for the purpose of cooking or warming. They shall be in an approved campsite or other type of approved device. Only wood, gas or charcoal may be used as a fuel source in these types of fires.
By my signature below, I acknowledge and will observe all applicable Arizona, Navajo County, City of Show Low and Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District laws and regulations. I also acknowledge that the Navajo County Board of Supervisors and the City of Show Low and the Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District will not be held responsible for any property damage, personal injury, or inconvenience incurred, directly or indirectly, as a result of the issuance and execution of the intent. This issuance of this burn permit does not release the attendant from any of the requirements of any other jurisdictional agency or any applicable and legally constituted agreements. This burn permit issued in accordance with Arizona Department of Environmental Quality, Open Burning Guidelines for Air Pollution Control.
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District holds the right to revoke or cancel this intent to burn at anytime. This permit is issued by the authority of the Fire Chief and must be present at the burn site and presented to a Fire Officer or Law Enforcement Office upon request. Check with your local Home Owner’s Association (HOA) prior to burning. Any Covenants, Conditions, and Restrictions (CCR) in place prohibiting burning are not waived by obtaining this burn permit. Local rules shall apply.